pause icon
Latest News

Access EIR Case Register for Updates

Access the EIR Case Register for Updates - Now with over 500 cases added.

INSOL Europe Turnaround Wing Guidelines now published

The 'INSOL Europe Turnaround Wing Guidelines for Restructuring and Turnaround Professionals' have now been published. The guidelines were developed in 2015 by INSOL Europe’s Turnaround Wing, through…

Annual Congress 2016 - Lisbon - Registration Now Open!

Annual Congress 2016 - Lisbon - Registration Now Open!

EECC Conference 2016 Registration Now Open

EECC Conference, Cluj-Napoca, Romania, 12 & 13 May 2016: Online Registration Now Open!

Find an event

Find an event

Year (YYYY) City Country

Introduction to INSOL Europe Academic Forum


The INSOL Europe Academic Forum, founded in 2004, is a constituent body of INSOL Europe, a Europe-wide association of practitioners in insolvency. The Academic Forum’s primary mission is to engage in the representation of members interested in insolvency law and research, to encourage and assist in the development of research initiatives in the insolvency field and to participate in the activities organised by INSOL Europe. The membership of the Academic Forum includes insolvency academics, insolvency practitioners with recognised academic credentials as well as those engaged in the research and study of insolvency. The Academic Forum meets annually in conjunction with the main conference of INSOL Europe and also arranges half-yearly conferences around suitable themes of interest to the practice and academic communities. Previous meetings have taken place in Prague (2004), Amsterdam (2005), Monaco (2007), Leiden and Barcelona (2008), Brighton and Stockholm (2009), Leiden and Vienna (2010), Milan, Venice and Jersey (2011), Nottingham and Brussels (2012), Trier and Paris (2013), Leiden and Istanbul (2014) as well as Trier, Nottingham and Berlin (2015).

At the Paris conference, Professor Christoph Paulus (Humboldt University Berlin) was elected Chair of the Academic Forum for a three-year term from 2013 to 2016. Anthon Verweij (Leiden Law School) serves as Secretary to the Board, while Florian Bruder (Max Planck Institute, Hamburg), Jessica Schmidt (University of Bayreuth), Jenny Gant (Chair of the Young Academics Network’ in Insolvency), Myriam Mailly and Emmanuelle Inacio (INSOL Europe Technical Officers) as well as Rolef de Weijs (University of Amsterdam), Professor Michael Veder (Radboud University Nijmegen) are ordinary members of the Board. Professor Rebecca Parry (Nottingham Law School) is the Editor of the Conference Proceedings series and ex officio a member of the board. A Supervisory Committee has also been established as a consultative board for Academic Forum projects whose membership includes senior insolvency academics and practitioners.

With sponsorship made available by Edwin Coe LLP between 2007 and 2014 and now Shakespeare Martineau from 2014 onwards, the Academic Forum has been able to offer young scholars travel grants to attend its conferences, research grants for scholarly projects as well as prizes for outstanding legal scholarship awarded on the basis of monographs and publications. Edwin Coe LLP has also kindly sponsored an annual lecture to be given by a scholar of international repute. These have included Professor Jay Westbrook (University of Texas at Austin), Gabriel Moss QC (3/4 South Square, Gray’s Inn, London), The Hon Mr Justice Ian Kawaley (Supreme Court of Bermuda), Professor Karsten Schmidt (President of the Bucerius Law School, Hamburg), Professor Bob Wessels (Leiden Law School), Professor Ian Fletcher QC (University College London), Professor Rosalind Mason (Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane) and Professor Axel Flessner (Humboldt University Berlin).

A series of publications arising from Academic Forum conferences was inaugurated in 2009 by reports from the 2008 Leiden and Barcelona events with the intention being to publish conference proceedings booklets from all of the conferences listed above. Overall, the publications are intended to form a comprehensive report of the conferences and contain accounts of recent research in the insolvency field useful for academics and practitioners alike.

The Academic Forum’s next meeting will be the annual conference, which is scheduled to take place in conjunction with the INSOL Europe conference in Lisbon on 21-22 September 2016. Further events are being planned for 2016 and beyond. Details of academic conferences will be posted at the Academic Forum website at: www.insol-europe.org/academic/ as and when available. An on-line registration facility for academic conferences as well as further information about the work of the Academic Forum can also be obtained via the website as well as a dedicated Facebook page.
 
Management Board
Chair:
Professor Christoph Paulus, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
chrpaulus@t-online.de

Secretary:
Anthon Verweij, University of Leiden
anthon.verweij@gmail.com

Committee:
Professor Michael Veder, Radboud University Nijmegen
m.veder@jur.ru.nl

Professor Dr. Jessica Schmidt, LL.M., University of Bayreuth
jessica.schmidt@uni-bayreuth.de

Rolef de Weijs, University of Amsterdam
R.J.deWeijs@uva.nl

Jennifer L. L. Gant, Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham Law School, Chair, Young Academics' Network in Insolvency Law
jennifer.gant@ntu.ac.uk

Myriam Mailly, University of Kent, Université Lille 2, Laboratoire de Recherche Juridique (L.A.R.J.) de Boulogne sur Mer
mailly.myriam@orange.fr

Emmanuelle Inacio, Université du Littoral Côte d'Opale, Laboratoire de Recherche Juridique (L.A.R.J.) de Boulogne sur Mer
emma.inacio@gmail.com

Florian Bruder, Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, Munich
florian.bruder@weil.com 

Editor (Conference Proceedings):
Professor Rebecca Parry, Nottingham Law School, Nottingham Trent University
rebecca.parry@ntu.ac.uk

INSOL Europe Liaison Team:
Caroline Taylor
carolinetaylor@insol-europe.org
Supervisory Board
Chair:
Professor Christoph Paulus, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
chrpaulus@t-online.de

Secretary: 
Anthon Verweij, University of Leiden
anthon.verweij@gmail.com

Committee:
Professor Bob Wessels, University of Leiden
bwessels@bobwessels.nl

Professor Stefania Bariatti, University of Milan
stefania.bariatti@unimi.it

Professor Christian Berger, Leipzig University
cberger@uni-leipzig.de

Cecilia Carrara, LUISS Rome
ccarrara@luiss.it

Reinhard Dammann, White and Case, Paris
rdammann@whitecase.com

Professor Eric Dirix, University of Leuven
eric.dirix@law.kuleuven.be

Professor Dennis Faber, University of Nijmegen
dennis.faber@cliffordchance.com

Professor Ian Fletcher, University College London
i.f.fletcher@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Jens Lowitzsch, University of Berlin
lowitzsc@zedat.fu-berlin.de

Gabriel Moss QC, 3/4 South Square, Gray's Inn
gabrielmoss@southsquare.com

Johanna Niemi, University of Helsinki
johanna.niemi-kiesilainen@helsinki.fi

Professor Paul Oberhammer, University of Zurich
paul.oberhammer@rwi.unizh.ch

Professor Tomas Richter, Clifford Chance, Prague
Tomas.Richter@CliffordChance.com

Professor Vincent Sagaert, University of Leuven
Vincent.Sagaert@kuleuven-kortrijk.be

Siv Sandvik, DLAPiper, Oslo
Siv.Sandvik@dlapiper.com

Professor Alexander Trunk, Institute for East European Law, University of Kiel
office-eastlaw@law.uni-kiel.de

Professor Ion Turcu, University of Cluj-Napoca
iturcu@cluj.astral.ro

Professor Paul Varul, University of Tartu
Paul.Varul@varul.ee

Professor Miguel Virgos, University of Madrid
miguel.virgos@uam.es
Sponsors

The Academic Forum is pleased to announce the generous support of Shakespeare Martineau.
 
Contact: 
Christina FitzgeraldPartner
T: +44 (0)207 264 4455